Alan's sysadmin Blog

Working smarter not harder

Move Office 2010 MSOCache to Alternate Drive

Posted by Alan McBurney on July 1, 2011


I use a 60GB SSD as my primary boot drive on my dekstop and was looking at how I could free up as much space as possible.

I ran Tree Size and noticed that the MSOCache for Office 2010 was 1.2GB.
This is a hidden folder located in C:\MSOCache

I wanted to move this to my D: drive to free up the valuable space from my SSD but after some reading I found it is not possible to move the location of this using office install.

This is where Junction came to my resuce

Junction is a free utility from sysinternals and is availble from http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896768

Firstly I move the MSOCache using RoboCopy to my D: drive using the follwing command

Robocopy C:\MSOCache D:\MSOCache /MIR

Be sure to run the above as an elevated command prompt.

Using the /MIR switch mirrors the folder contents, security & attributes so the folder remains hidden on the D: drive

After Robocopy ran I deleted the MSOCache folder from the C drive.

The last piece was to create a junction point that links C:\MSOCache to D:\MSOCache and gives the 1.2GB back to my SSD

I downloaded junction and copied the contents to %windir%\system32 and then ran the following

Junction C:\MSOCache D:\MSOCache

Job done 🙂

3 Responses to “Move Office 2010 MSOCache to Alternate Drive”

  1. beurk said

    Thanks

  2. doug said

    I to have SSD drive in RAID0 format for my C-drive. I have office 2010 trial and I wanted to install in on my D-drive because I want to use OneNote and this creates an index. As you know index on SSD drive will kill it.
    1. have you used OneNote with Office 2010 on your SSD drives and found that Onenote index does not Kill you SSD drives.
    1.a. I had google search installed on my SSD drive and it killed it on about 1 week. I had to move google search to a normal HDD drive
    2. is there a way of telling Office 2010 install to use D-drive

    • Alan McBurney said

      I use OneNote extensivley and have Office 2010 installed on my SSD without issue. You can choose an alternate location during install if you wish.

      Google search is different as it trawls your drive to index its entire contents. If you are using Windows 7\Vista there is no need for Google Search as Windows can index selective location natively.
      Personally speaking I generally don’t keep anything of value on my SSD aside from the OS so I have no need to index it.

      HTH
      Alan

Leave a Reply

 
