Alan's sysadmin Blog

Working smarter not harder

The CMDB Entry Failed

Posted by Alan McBurney on September 23, 2011


OK, so I’ve been trying to add some Virtual IP Mappings on a FortiGate 200A running firmware v4.0,build0441,110318 (MR3)

Everytime I try to add a VIP via the web interface I get the following error

The cmdb add entry failed

The firewall still allows the rules to be added via the CLI but the web interface is a no go.

The solution for me was to reboot the FortiGate

7 Responses to “The CMDB Entry Failed”

  1. James said

    I also suffer from this problem on v4.0,build0458,110627 (MR3 Patch 1)
    Fortinets official answer was to reboot, or use the CLI!

    We’ve got v4.0,build0482,110920 (MR3 Patch 2) running on a different unit. This unit doesn’t exhibit the ‘cmdb add entry failed’ error, but it has a whole new bunch of bugs to make up for it!

  2. Vit said

    try to restart ips engine #diagnose test application ipsmonitor 99

  3. Freaky said

    Somewhat inaccurate.

    I had killed the IPS engine already (only 78% memory was consumed according to front page), but didn’t solve it. I had to kill the cron too (forticron).

  4. John Paul Morris said

    Can you tell me if running the command “diagnose test application ipsmonitor 99” has any affect on the function of the firewall?

  5. walter said

    when I edit a Virtual IP that I already have created “I get CFG_CMDBAPI_ERR”
    I was told to run “diagnose test application ipsmonitor 99” also.
    can I run this during business hours? if this is the correct fix?

Leave a Reply

 
